NTCA Smart Rural Providers & Showcase Award Winners

NTCA Smart Rural Community

Smart Rural Community represents a network of communities powered by innovative community-based broadband providers building a brighter future for small town America. Smart Rural Community, a program of NTCA, promotes rural broadband and its role in supporting innovative economic development, effective education, efficient energy distribution and use, state-of-the-art health care and other important issues for rural America.

       ICA Member Smart Rural Community Providers
AcenTek (Houston, MN)
Alliance Communications Cooperative (Garretson, SD)
Alpine Communications (Elkader)
Butler-Bremer Communications (Plainfield)
Cascade Communications Company (Cascade)
Citizens Mutual Telephone Cooperative (Bloomfield)
Clear Lake Independent Telephone Company (Clear Lake)
Cooperative Telephone Exchange (Stanhope)
CTC Technology (Victor)
Danville Mutual Telephone Company (Danville)
Dumont Telephone Company (Dumont)
Farmers Mutual Communications (Moulton)
Farmers Mutual Telephone Company (Stanton)
Farmers Telephone Company (Essex)
Grand Mound Cooperative Telephone Association (Grand Mound)
GRM Networks (Princeton, MO)
Heart of Iowa Communications Cooperative (Union)
IAMO Communications (Coin)
Jefferson Telecom (Jefferson)
Kalona Cooperative Technology Co. (Kalona)
LaMotte Telephone Company (LaMotte)
Liberty Communications (West Liberty)
LNE Communications (Lost Nation)
Marne & Elk Horn Telephone Co. (Elk Horn)
Minburn Communications (Minburn)
MTC Technologies (Mediapolis)
Northeast Iowa Telephone Company (Monona)
OmniTel Communications (Nora Springs)
Palmer Mutual Telephone Company (Palmer)
Panora Fiber (Panora)
Premier Communications (Sioux Center)
River Valley Telecommunications Coop (Graettinger)
RTC Communications (Readlyn)
Sharon Telephone Company (Hills)
Stratford Mutual Telephone (Stratford)
Webster-Calhoun Cooperative Telephone Association (Gowrie)
WesTel Systems (Remsen)
Western Iowa Networks (Breda)
Wiatel-Western Iowa Telecom (Lawton)
Winnebago Cooperative Telecom Association (Lake Mills)
Wyoming Mutual Telephone Co. (Wyoming)
NTCA Smart Rural Community Showcase Award Recipients

The Smart Rural Community (SRC) Showcase Awards are annual awards presented to NTCA members to recognize their extraordinary achievements in promoting rural broadband networks and their broadband-enabled applications in rural communities. Telcos are awarded based on their ability to demonstrate the use of these technologies through innovative economic development, education, health care, government services, safety and security, and more efficient energy distribution and use.

        Iowa Award Winners
Jefferson Telecom, Jefferson - 2020
GRM Networks, Princeton, MO - 2019
Kalona Cooperative Technology Company, Kalona - 2019
Clear Lake Independent Telephone Company, Clear Lake – 2017
Webster-Calhoun Cooperative Telephone Association, Gowrie – 2017
Liberty Communications, West Liberty – 2016
Citizens Mutual Telephone Cooperative, Bloomfield – 2015
South Slope Cooperative Communications, North Liberty – 2015
Premier Communications, Sioux Center – 2014